Upcycling

Upcycling is one of my favorite methods of recomposition; the recomposition of physical items. The basic concept is to make something out of a material that would otherwise be considered waste.

Common things that are upcycled include

  • Pallets

  • Clothes

  • And (my favorite) plastic bags

With enough creativity, just about anything can be upcycled. I often keep little knick-knacks that I look at and think, “I know I could make SOMETHING with this, but I have no idea WHAT yet.” Many artists use upcycled materials in their pieces.

Landscaping with old tires.

This is made out of metal that would’ve ended up in the landfill

Dress made of newspaper. Not sure if it’s actually wearable or not…

 

(EDIT: I’m trying to get the pictures to link back to the source (since originally I kind of just stole the pictures from Google and I’ve learned that’s problematic), but the site for the tire landscaping is throwing a tantrum. I’ll fix it ASAP)

7 thoughts on “Upcycling

  1. These are some great ideas! Upcycling projects are my absolute favorite, cause they can be really stylish and get the greatest looks from people when you tell them what or how you did it. I really like the pallet ideas, and, as it turns out, we have lots of unused ones at home. Might have to be a new summer project. Thanks for sharing these.

  2. I dislike being wasteful, so I try to upcycle as often as possible. There are all sorts of neat projects, some I find online and some I just come up with given the material I have. Thrift stores/garage sales are great for finding new-old things to get creative with. And, I LOVED plarn when I was young. I had a hat made out of it that I almost never took off.

  3. I love Up-cycling. Almost my entire room is made up of things I have up-cycled, not well, but up cycled non the less! We should start an upcycling club on campus and create some awesomeness!

  4. Pingback: Bootcamp Week 2 | ecofriendlyfreak

Leave a Reply

