I Don’t Often Pay Attention to Fashion But…

The Huffington Post recently published this article on trends men hate, but women love. (Pause for collective exasperated sigh from all decent human beings.)

Beginning to end, it’s full of mysogynistic fedoras. Guys who think they have the final word on what girls should wear to please their aesthetic tastes. Like I said, I’m not a “fashion” kind of person, so usually this wouldn’t even pop up on my radar, but the feminists of Tumblr catch EVERYTHING, and so this popped up on my dashboard:

fashion tumblr post

Of course I took a look, and while I personally don’t like all of the trends (well actually most of them it we’re being honest), I’d never go so far as to tell others what to wear, because frankly it’s none of my damn business. The article features comments from interviewed guys, which are all basically, “I don’t like this so you shouldn’t wear it.” If aliens were to read this as part of a study on human culture, they would think that women dress only for men, and that they may like a fashion trend, but that doesn’t matter because men don’t. Welcome to the patriarchy.

 

Wow, lots of seriousness here. Need a dose of comedy before this post ends, so here‘s a post by a Tumblr user who asked her boyfriend for his opinion on the article and trends.

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Often Pay Attention to Fashion But…

  1. I would never change what I wear for anybody, male or female. I dress for myself… Which is probably why sometimes what I wear is a little “out there”. Meh. As I get older I care less and less about what others think of me.

    It’s sad that there are some males out there who really do believe women should dress only to please them, but it’s really sad that article was made in the first place… And that there are some females out there taking it very seriously.

    It also seems that The Huffington Post never made an article about male trends females hate that guys love. It would contain as much bull, but at least it would be a little more fair.

  2. My boyfriend showed me this article a few weeks ago, it seems to have been getting some publicity since. I don’t partake in all of these trends but that does not mean others cant. Generally myself and two men agreed that you cant just put, for example high skirts, in one huge category sometimes it might look good sometimes it might. Regardless the choice is up to the wearer. This article shows how we seem to be more likely to share our opinions on the web. I highly doubt any man would actually walk up to a woman and say that they don’t like the “trend” they are wearing.

  3. This reminds me of a “What Would You Do?” Episode I watched over the weekend. Basically, a boyfriend was bullying his girlfriend in trying to get her to dress ‘sexy’ for him. Then it switched over to a mother who wanted her daughter to be less modest. Here’s the video if you’d like to watch it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=072Y1osUCEo

    When it comes to things like this, I just want to scream at how idiotic and arrogant some people are. It drives me up the wall and out the window. Ugh just thinking about it I…AHHHHHH! I can’t talk about it. I can’t, I just…can’t do it. It will be messy.

  4. Pingback: Bootcamp Week 2 | ecofriendlyfreak

Leave a Reply

