The Wolf Hunt

(A.K.A. Why “treehuggers” give actual wildlife/habitat management people a bad name and make me want to rip my hair out.)

I’ve encountered people like this multiple times (here on campus and outside the State Fair 2012), but until now I didn’t have the inherent knowledge to challenge them on the spot. This time I had the internet at my disposal to check the numbers.

Basic summary: people are protesting the wolf hunt in Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Michigan without actually bothering to learn anything about why wolves were de-listed as endangered or what the regulations of the wolf hunt are.

Basic explaination: Wolf populations are sustainable, and so strictly regulated harvesting was introduced mainly for ecological reasons. No more than 220 wolves are to be killed in Minnesota (leaving ~2,000 alive, well above the planned minimum population for the state). The hunt was introduced to prevent wolves from encroaching on human habitats (which would be dangerous for both wolves and humans), and the prevent wolves from entering a full-blown boom-bust population cycle (which I explained in the post I linked to above).

2 thoughts on “The Wolf Hunt

  1. I wrote an article one the new wolf season this past fall just before the hunt was going to happen. I must admit I’m a hunter myself so I may be a bit bias, but when I was doing research I tried to see the oppositions side. Like you said, only 220 wolves would be tagged so I felt that the wolf population would not be drastically affect and that the reason for a wolf hunt were just.

  2. Pingback: Week Three Reflection | ecofriendlyfreak

Leave a Reply

