Week Seven Reflection

This week’s assignment was a little more challenging than last week’s. We are still working on wiki collaboration, but we’ve had a slight change in topic, going more in-depth in our research. Last week we focused on more superficial topics (such as how to get started and the different ways wikis are used), but this wee we dove into what exactly makes writing on wikis easy or difficult, wiki literacy, social determinism, and the digital culture divide. I made contributions to the pages DigitalCultureDivide and WhatMakesWikiWritingSoHard. Records of the specific changes I made can be found on my personal pages, under DigitalCultureDivideMS and WhatMakesWikiWritingSoHardMS. While this week was a little more challenging, it was still fairly easy in that we can still produce content based primarily on our own ideas and experiences, and therefor don’t have to do very much additional research in order to contribute.

 

I had the most difficulty with writing on DigitalCultureDivide because my initial content was written under the presupposition that divide was based on whether or not wikis could be deemed credible, and that the divide could be placed on a generational line, with older generations on one side and younger generations on the other. It was pointed out to me by JennaLong that this was inaccurate, and that it was more likely to be a matter of the inexperienced vs. the experienced. Re-writing the content to reflect that idea wasn’t very hard, but it took me a while to get to it because I believed that what I had written could “hang with” what Jenna had said. It was my experience that, aside from a few exceptions, being wiki-inexperienced was congruent with being at least a generation above me. The only adult I’d known to trust Wikipedia when I was in highschool and my first years of college was my mom, and even then it was a wary sort of trust.

(Little side-story here; my mom is a tutor, and at one point the girl she was tutoring had to do a research paper. The rules for her sources stated that she could only have one online source (which in this technological age, where many academic journals are publishing their material online, is a tad close-minded). My mom suggested starting with Wikipedia, intending to use it as a method of finding other sources, and the girl FREAKED OUT. Her teachers at school had convinced her that Wikipedia was pretty much evil and should never be used for research ever.)

 

Leave a Reply

