Final Project Week Three Reflection

This week on my wiki I created reviews for several different yarns; Fun Fur, Homespun, Merino 5, MountainTop Chalet, Softee Chunky, and Super Saver. I would say that this week has definitely been easier that previous weeks, simply because much of the content written was my own opinion. With the tutorials I had to constantly check that the way I had learned to do a stitch matched up with how other tutorials taught it, which is a complicated task because every knitter is slightly different. I looked over multiple tutorials for each stitch that I wasn’t 100% sure about, in text, picture, and video format.

For me it was fun to think through exactly how the different types of yarn felt, how they handled, and what they would best be used for. I was especially excited to review MountainTop Chalet, as it is one of my all time favorite yarns. This is definitely a section of the wiki I plan to continue after the semester ends, as I’ll continue to knit and try out different (fancier!) yarns, such as Berroco Ultra Alpaca and Rowan Belle Organic Aran. Frankly I just love talking about yarn, but I don’t have a lot of knitter friends to talk about it with, so my wiki and Tumblr have been my primary outlets.

Throughout this last week I have continued to discover new little aspects of the WikiSpaces platform. I suspect that I will still be figuring out new things until this project ends at least. This week I fine-tuned my image manipulation skills, as I now know how to align multiple images on one side, and have ALL of the text next to the images. I also learned that, while anyone and everyone can “add” a new page by typing in a WikiWord and telling it to “link” to a page withing the wiki while editing, one must at least be logged in to WikiSpaces in order to make said page actually exist by hitting the edit button on that page. Honestly I don’t believe this will be much of an issue on my wiki because it seems to have adopted more of a call-and-response flow of information (though the “response” part is lacking to say the least), but for a more active wiki like our class wiki or one used by a business, this could be wuite the hinderance.

Leave a comment